Traffic Violations Information

Traffic violations are common, especially in the state of Connecticut. At some point, many drivers are pulled over for a minor violation, be it speeding, reckless driving or driving to intimidate. Below is information on a wide range of traffic matters in which you can be represented by a lawyer.

The first step is getting in touch with an attorney who has experience protecting the rights of Connecticut motorists. Call 203-754-7779, or contact us online to request a free initial consultation.

Speeding

One of the most common traffic violations is speeding. In Connecticut, this is a crime. If you are pulled over and given a ticket for speeding, there are a few different ways that you can plead. You may plead not guilty to the ticket and take your case to court in an attempt to fight it. If you take your case to court and you are found guilty, you face more serious penalties than when you simply plead to the ticket and pay the fine. You can lose points on your driver's license and face a larger fine if you are found guilty of speeding in court.

Another way to plead to a speeding ticket is nolo contendere. This means no contest, which means that you aren't denying to or admitting to the charges. Instead, you simply pay the ticket and don't have to deal with a court appearance. You also will not face any points taken off of your driver's license for a first offense.

Reckless Driving

Another common traffic violation is reckless driving. Reckless driving is defined as operation of a motor vehicle at such a speed as to endanger the life of someone who is not operating the motor vehicle. Reckless driving can occur on:

  • A private road
  • A public highway
  • A specially chartered municipal association
  • A parking lot with room for 10 or more cars
  • School property

When a person is found guilty of reckless driving for the first time, he or she faces a fine and a jail sentence of as much as 30 days and a license suspension of 30 days. A subsequent offense will result in a higher fine, a license suspension of 60 days and a jail sentence of as much as one year.

Driving To Intimidate

Driving too closely to another car can result in a charge of driving to intimidate. Driving to intimidate might seem like a minor issue, but it can lead to more serious driving issues such as accidents, road rage or aggressive driving. If you are charged with driving to intimidate, you face the same penalties as you would for reckless driving.

Points

The Department of Motor Vehicles monitors drivers by giving them points for traffic violations. Points on a license remain on a driving record for two years. If you have seven points in three years you will have to attend driver retraining. Points are assessed from a license in the following manner:

One point will be assessed for:

  • Operating at unreasonable rate of speed (Section 14-218a)
  • Speeding (Section 14-219)
  • Failure to drive in right-hand lane (Section 14-230)
  • Illegal use of limited access highway by bus, commercial vehicle or vehicle with trailer (Section 14-230a)
  • Improper operation on multiple-lane highways (Section 14-236)
  • Improper operation on divided highway (Section 14-237)
  • Wrong direction at rotary or one-way street (Section 14-239)
  • Improper turn, illegal turn, illegal stopping, failure to signal intention to turn (Section 14-242)
  • Improper backing or starting (Section 14-243)
  • Failure to give proper signal (Section 14-244)
  • Operator's duties on stopping a school bus (Section 14-277)
  • Operation of motorcycles abreast, illegal passing (Section 14-289b)
  • Wrong way on one-way street (Section 14-303)

Two points will be assessed for:

  • Slow speed, impending traffic (Section 14-220)
  • Disobeying orders of officer (Section 14-223a)
  • Entering or leaving controlled access highway at other than designated entrance or exit (Section 14-238)
  • Entry upon a limited access highway other than a highway intersection or designated point (Section 14-238a)
  • Executing turn from wrong lane or contrary to traffic control devices (Section 14-241)
  • Failure to obey signal at railroad crossing (Section 14-249)
  • Failure to observe parkway or expressway restrictions (Section 14-298)
  • Failure to obey traffic control signal light (Section 14-299)
  • Failure to obey yield sign (Section 14-302)
  • Operating a vehicle through pedestrian safety zone (Section 14-304)

Three points are assessed for:

  • Driving while impaired (Section 14-227a(b))
  • Failure to keep right when meeting opposing traffic (Section 14-231)
  • Improper passing or failure to yield to passing vehicle (Section 14-232)
  • Passing on right (Section 14-233)
  • Passing in no passing zone (Section 14-234)
  • Failure to keep to right on curve, grade or approaching intersection (Section 14-235)
  • Failure to drive reasonable distance apart (Section 14-240)
  • Failure to grant right of way at intersection (Section 14-245)
  • Failure to yield when emerging from driveway or private road (Section 14-247)
  • Failure to grant right of way when emerging from alley driveway or building (Section 14-247a)
  • Failure to grant right of way to pedestrian (Section 14-300)

Four points are assessed for:

  • Wagering, speed record (Section 14-224c)
  • Failure to drive reasonable distance apart, intent to harass (Section 14-240a)
  • Passing stopped school bus (Section 14-279)

Five points will be assessed for:

  • Negligent homicide with a motor vehicle (Section 14-222a)
  • Operation of school bus at excessive speed (Section 14-281a)

Protect Your License

You do not have to sit back while the points add up and threaten your ability to drive. Contact us today to request a free consultation with an experienced traffic defense attorney.