Defending You Against Allegations Of Sex Offenses

Sex offenses can be difficult to deal with for many reasons. For one, many people will automatically judge you and label you a bad person when you are charged with a sex offense. What people do not realize is that just because you are charged with a sex offense, this does not mean that you are guilty of it. Another issue that makes sex offenses so difficult to deal with is the fact that they are so complex. Issues of consent, intimate relationships and knowledge of the law must be explored in sex offense cases.

Oftentimes, the difficult questions must be asked, and these confusing topics must be explored. If you have been accused of a sex offense and you don't know where to begin, you need to get help. By contacting a criminal defense attorney experienced in sex offense cases, you can begin working through the events that led to your arrest and build your defense. Our attorney at Cummings Law Firm has dealt with sex offense cases and other violent crime matters in Connecticut. We work to see that your rights are not violated while your case is pending. Please contact our office for more information on sex offense defense.

With offices in Waterbury, we serve in Torrington, Danbury, Bridgeport and throughout the region.

Sex Crime Charges

A common sex offense is sexual assault. There are four different degrees of sexual assault, and each is defined and punished in slightly different ways. Of the forms of sexual assault, sexual assault in the first degree is the most serious, and sexual assault in the fourth degree is the least serious.

  • First degree: A person is guilty of this crime in the state of Connecticut if he or she coerces someone else into sexual intercourse through the use of force or threats.
  • Second degree: A person is guilty of sexual assault in the second degree when he or she is at least three years older than a person between the ages of 13 and 16, and he or she engages in sexual intercourse with that person.
  • Third degree: Sexual assault in the third degree is similar to sexual assault in the first degree in some ways. A person is guilty of this crime when he or she engages in sexual conduct with someone else through threats or force. Unlike in sexual assault in the first degree, sexual intercourse does not have to take place, merely sexual conduct. This includes but is not limited to:
    • Groping.
    • Fondling.
    • Touching.
    • Unwanted sexual contact.
  • Fourth degree: In some cases, sexual assault in the fourth degree is considered a misdemeanor, unlike the rest of the degrees of sexual assault, which are considered felonies. Sexual assault in the fourth degree occurs when purposeful and unwanted sexual contact is conducted by one person on another person.

Sex Crime Penalties

The penalties for sexual assault crimes are severe. In almost every case, you will be facing a felony charge in the state of Connecticut if you commit sexual assault. The specific penalties for each degree of sex assault are:

  • Sexual assault in the first degree: This is the most serious of the sexual assault charges. You face a class A or class B felony charge, which can result in a prison sentence of 10-60 years, as well as a fine of as much as $20,000.
  • Sexual assault in the second degree: Sexual assault in the second degree is considered a class B or a class c felony. You face a prison sentence of 1-20 years as well as a fine of $10,000-$15,000.
  • Sexual assault in the third degree: Sexual assault in the third degree is a class C or a class D felony in the state of Connecticut. The penalties for this crime are a prison sentence that will last 1-10 years and a fine of $5,000-$10,000.
  • Sexual assault in the fourth degree: In some cases, sexual assault in the fourth degree is considered a class A misdemeanor. In other cases, it is a class D felony. For this crime, you face a prison sentence of 1-5 years and a fine of as much as $5,000.

Mandatory Sex Offender Registration

In addition to the penalties listed above, if you are convicted of a sex crime, you must register in the state of Connecticut as a sex offender. This information is visible to the public.

Avoiding a sexual offense conviction is essential if you want your life to return to normal. Don't let one mistake or misunderstanding dictate the rest of your life. Get the experienced defense that you need by contacting Cummings Law today. Use our online form or call our lawyer at 203-754-7779. Initial consultations are free.